Oh man.. this was just not my day! ..I left for a loop out from Hile to Hile and I totally, but totally blew it in the end.. I already figured out on the way that I wouldn’t to that stretch again, because there were many really tough parts on the way. The front wheel blocked because of all the dirt. Then dropped the bike in the mud, burned my leg (a thing that I forgot about the last couple of hours) and afterwards I dropped it in a water hole, what was also pretty shitty. So putting it together, I was riding already for very long, didn’t stop for food, just wanted to get back to Hile and there was this river in my way. I managed to get to the middle of it and stopped to unload my bike (smartest thing of the day!!) and they continue with the bike only to the other side. Dude.. there was a small bamboo bridge and it’s only made for walking across and carrying bikes across, what would have been the correct way of crossing this river. But there was no one to see (had all siesta) and cocky me took the attempt. Very bad mistake!! The bike went down to the handle bar and then choked, just to get swept away together with me from huge water masses.. so I was floating down together with the bike (yes.. this really happened..) and got ahead of it.. there I realized how bad this could end, if 150kg get stuck on me in a flowing river :P I climbed over it and almost lost it for a moment below the water (I thought that’s the end of my bike journey). Then it got stuck 30 meters below and I climbed out of the river. This was nearly as dramatic as it sounds! :) Only one handlebar was still looking out of the water and surely it wouldn’t stay there forever. Shouting for help, running to the next house, where only a drunken guy was to be found. I stayed polite (thought might be my only help), but was incredibly desperate and realized shortly that this guy was of no use.. so I ran across the small bridge to cross the other side of the river through the water and ran to other houses close by. Some ladies told me there would be a man sleeping in a house and on the first floor, there was indeed a man sleeping. Waking him up, repeating the words “motorbike cello nadi” what means about, the river took my bike. He got it and came down quickly, shouted for help (I thought the drunk guy ;) but then about 10 workers (working on the bridge) popped up and saved the bike from being taken forever by these ravaging floods! ..phew.. at least.
unfortunately there are no pics of that adventure, because my camera was amongst the victims. (I thought today about getting a new one, but decided to “no” but I guess it’s a “yes” after all ;)
so.. hooray.. I live! :) and hooray, my stuff is safe and sound (and dry). This would have been very costly and annoying. But still.. it sucks a bit. I’m paying money for recovery and repair and the re-sell value dropped drastically I guess. But this is just money and things are the way they are. What I most got out of this experience, was how surprisingly relaxed I’m all taking this. Well.. at a certain point I was impatiently waiting for a randomly passing tractor to bring the bike and me away from the scene and I’d have wished for my carefully elaborated plans to come through. But all in all it’s no big deal.. so end of the story (almost, because it’s still going on). I gave the workers some tip (hope was enough) and a tractor passed, taking me and the bike to the next settlement.. what took about 2 hours of shaking, suffering with the bike in the back that banged in agony against the metal of the trailer.. brr.. well.. then now I got a room with a family and some awesome guy is fixing my bike. Before I heard the motor running again, what is totally amazing, considering that it was taking a bath for a couple of minutes.. there was water in the tank, the gearbox, piston, airfilter, carburizer.. just everywhere.. there was a liter coming out of the exhaust and another liter when draining the oil :P too bad.. I had such a flawless driving record on this trip. But well.. I guess Ilam is not an option anymore and I will get that bike running again, then making papers, back to Kathmandu, Service it for real and do the India Visa thing. It has still to happen all of it and as there is this nice evening bike fixing session going on, I’m very positive about all this! :)
what I learned so far in my life is that conditions are just temporal and are changing all the time. Broking things will be fixed and worries from today are long gone tomorrow. So it’s best to not give all the time fully in to these emotions, but look at things from a distance and do whatever has to be done.
So the
synopsis is as followed.. the bike runs again and with all the oil to clean out
the engine and fresh petrol, including the transport and tips it was about 40
bucks so far.. pretty affordable ;) furthermore it took only 8 hours from the
moments when it was completely sunk to up and running again :) well.. there are
some more parts to be changed and tomorrow I will head straight to the Hero
dealership not too far from here and get full service done! (this I wanted to
do in Kathmandu, but it seems to be an appropriate moment ;) then Ilam is cancelled
and definitively is the bumpy dirt road to it! :P but yeah.. didn’t delay me
for too long (bike probably has to blew up for this ;) hehe
so yes.. riding here is more than I can take (should mean something ;) and even if I got spared by all the rain, the roads are still in the very bad shape as they have been left by the rainy season! I was more sliding down on steep basalt passages than I could climb up and the bike was cooking! Would be fun on a 250XT 100% dirtbike, but not on my fully loaded touring bike and finally it was not a flat tire that stopped me, but a little bath in some treacherous river :P ah well.. we’re getting smarter I guess :)
addon: the service in the Hero shop wasn't as good as expected.. guys just cleaned and washed the bike (and it was already pretty clean after the river ;) but then I found a workshop around the corner and they had some spares (because the Hero shop didn't have anything in stock! :P ) so some parts are put back on, others have been superglued and all in all, it's pretty OK again. Just have to live with the broken headlight (still working though :). would have been a good episode for NatGeo.. people love this shit! ;)
so yes.. riding here is more than I can take (should mean something ;) and even if I got spared by all the rain, the roads are still in the very bad shape as they have been left by the rainy season! I was more sliding down on steep basalt passages than I could climb up and the bike was cooking! Would be fun on a 250XT 100% dirtbike, but not on my fully loaded touring bike and finally it was not a flat tire that stopped me, but a little bath in some treacherous river :P ah well.. we’re getting smarter I guess :)
addon: the service in the Hero shop wasn't as good as expected.. guys just cleaned and washed the bike (and it was already pretty clean after the river ;) but then I found a workshop around the corner and they had some spares (because the Hero shop didn't have anything in stock! :P ) so some parts are put back on, others have been superglued and all in all, it's pretty OK again. Just have to live with the broken headlight (still working though :). would have been a good episode for NatGeo.. people love this shit! ;)