Well.. I’m
grounded again :/ this time, because my burned leg needs to rest and all the
care it can get. I’m observing it and will decide tomorrow morning, if I have
to head straight to Kathmandu, to get some antibiotics (what I really don’t
want). But it’s swollen and sweating and riding bike didn’t really help to
heal.
I still managed to do a lot every day.. it’s my thing, keeping my busy. I hate
idling and it feels just so much better when you can look back and you have
done a lot in the last days. This feeling goes for the whole trip, even if it
wasn’t easy all the time.. physical, psychological and technical problems
created a lot up and downs, but to handle all of it is pretty cool! :) I find I
can handle life and especially myself pretty well and it surely came through
travelling and expanding my horizon.
But now is also a lot of change about to come.. I find, I did a lot so far and
there’s still all the way back to go (that I luckily still can do riding ;).
But then I’m also running out of ideas and pushing it beyond the limits. The
places I go, the roads I drive, no one can tell you how they are.. you just
have to go and see. Now where I faced some very bad roads, I’m happy I didn’t
push it to Diktel and further. Not on my own, not with this bike and setting. I
turned around before getting to the point where I wanted to go, but I came to
the conclusion that only the highway is good to ride (but boring as hell). Furthermore.. there are no suitable loops,
because if two ways go to a place, only one is more or less drivable (the other
isn’t that important).
The day before the wet day, I just drove to Hile and had a tripping day out,
found though that the chosen area wasn’t big enough to really get lost and when
I got back to my bike, it was mutilated by some kids.. nothing too serious
except letting the air out of my front tyre. Also somehow sucked :P
then this impossible day described earlier, where I still suffer from that
overheated exhaust pipe :/
after the bike was fixed (same night!). I drove to Dharan to get proper service
at the shop (was shitty). Was still quite a ride (couple of hours) and after
getting there I managed to fix the bike more or less and getting drunk and high
in a nice hotel room with good food and cable TV :)
Then one day more than 200km but on the boring highway to Janakpur. Getting a
good hotel, doing the same as yesterday, getting ready to renew my bike papers
next day. I knew that I had to get back and get down to the hot and boring flat
to do that nasty paperwork.
Today I delayed quite a bit, because someone said I can get the papers in
Janakpur. No.. it’s not the case and the officials didn’t know anything.. was
more confusing :P
then down to the boarder.. where I accidentally passed and ended up in India..
asked the wrong guy, had to stop, sit down, wait.. clear things up, leave again
with all my stuff back to Nepal to talk to the Nepali customs. The guy there
just sent my away, but for good luck (and some waiting) another guy showed up
that renewed the papers. Now I wasted some dollars in days I didn’t used from
the old paper and will pay some extra, because after Everest I will be late
anyway. But not as late as with the old one (appr. 1USD import tax/day and 5USD
fine/day for overstay). So I’ve chosen the lesser evil with quite some hassle
and detour to get it. phew.. yes.. part of my trip is just determined by the
things I have to do and all this little missions I have to do on my own.. but
yeah.. it’s totally possible. Just not as relaxed as lying on the beach ;)
...........
some days later............
I’m in
Nagarkot and having some easy days. Well.. I was still walking around today,
but can’t overdo it with my leg. The wound looks actually pretty good, but
today I felt the lymph knot of my right thigh. I feel almost getting over
concerned, because I know the symptom, but there was not so much to do about
today and wanted to give it some more time. Well.. let’s see how is it tomorrow
morning, but I might still go and see a doctor (could be signs of infection
-> getting antibiotics :P
On the way
to Kathmandu I stopped in Delikel again in this nice hotel and had another
relaxed day (Sunday). Monday morning I headed straight to the Indian embassy.
Still had to wait for pretty long (was token number 61, because people start
waiting at the gate over an hour early. Used my waiting time to bring the bike
to service (some more stuff has been done and now it looks almost like new ;). The
final costs aren’t that high after all (glad didn’t turn out to be a big issue
:)
I met (after a very long time) some great people and was delightful to talk. I
guess, I’m getting a bit lonely out here. My longing for love (or having a
little romance) is taking over from time to time. I hope Everest is “overrun”,
so I get to meet some other hiking people :)
Sometimes the greatest challenge I’m having here is myself. But then I think
before leading people, you have to be able to lead yourself, to know yourself.
How can you understand other people, if you don’t understand yourself. So there
are probably benefits to this “treatment” of mine :) even if I would choose a
different reality at the moment.
I also don’t like idle time, like I’m doing something that is not incredible
superb. Watching TV, clicking in the internet.. stuff that is just not that
epic as other things that I’ve done. But yes I’ll have to accept this. On such
a long journey, you probably face every state of mind and all kind of emotions.
At the moment, I’m going through a phases where I lack somehow the spirit to do
all these things. I find there should be more appreciation while doing them and
being happier. Also have seen so many things here, done so much. A lot what
captured my attention when I got here first time, is not like this anymore
(playing with children, interaction with locals..). Feels like I’ve done this a
lot and being interaction anyway all the time through all the things I have to
get done here. Feels like 50% of this trip is determined by the outside world
(e.g. paperwork and limited roads). At
the moment, I even don’t have the energy to go out and meet people :( ..today
was cloudy but hot and dry and I was walking around here. Was good to keep me
busy, move around, being outside, but also felt like going back and resting and
passed out in the late afternoon already.. feel that my body needs to rest.
I bought a new cam.. and yes.. I think
it will serve me well. The old one had a problem with light detection and the
new one excels it in any way. More Zoom, HD movies and higher resolution. Lots
of fancy effects that I probably won’t use too much ;)
Okay.. still have two days until my flight. Let’s get myself patched up and
surrender to the change that surely will bring many cheerful moments :)
I didn't do too much Yoga and exercises lately. It's a shame, because let's me feel really good, but I also found that they can't take over too much. They have their place and are nice to do, if everything else is fine. Doing only this doesn't satisfy me. That's also why I'd like to find a partner in my life with whom I can share all this over a long time (rest of our lives ;). Practice Thai massage and Acroyoga (man.. haven't done in sooooo long!! :( I now know what I love doing in my life and looking forward to run into someone who also is strong but soft at the same time. Passionate and loving. Someone who can combine many positive attributes :)
take care and be safe! Cu in the not too distant future :)
addon:
darn.. now I'm officially grounded :((( went to see the doc and he suggested Antibiotics, what I'm taking now for five day. I wish, I would have started earlier (at least yesterday), but I hope that I'll be fit for hiking anyway. So I try to sleep a lot and drink a lot.. play some didge because the power is off here during the day (bummer). ..yesterday I picked up a leech.. god.. these are so nasty creatures! tried to burn it, but stinks awfully, so I scratched it off, what led to bleeding without stopping :P
maybe I can blame my low energy mood lately on that infection ;) anyway.. should be cured soon! learned already quite a bit about taking care of myself ;)